Tag Archives: evocative

field with yellow flowers and blue sky with smallclouds

Sov Godt (for Pål)


for four string orchestras

Duration 11 minutes

Based on the opening bars of the final movement of J.S. Bach’s Johannespassion, Sov Godt (for Pål) for four string orchestras is a meditation on rest, recuperation, love and hope. It was written at a difficult time when my family has been unable to be together and when my grandson Pål has been extremely unwell – the music brings together many emotions.


Westron Wynde



Duration: 8’45”

Scored for four clarinets, organ, piano and strings, Westron Wynde is is a contemplation derived from the Sanctus from John Sheppard’s mass of the same name. The music unfolds across three panels and depicts a vast empty landscape. Two brief extracts from Sheppard’s Sanctus can be heard as the music progresses, the first stated by the clarinets, the second, at a distance, by a string quartet.

In Autumn

(2010, 2016, 2023)

for orchestra (strings, flutes & piccolos)

Duration: 11’11”

In autumn is a piece for string orchestra with flutes and piccolos. It is an evocation of a woodland scene in late autumn in the pre-Appenini mountains of central Italy, specifically an area named Forca d’Acero which is a high mountain pass (1500m) on the border between Lazio and Abbruzzo: an evocative woodland landscape.